Los Angeles Colleges and Universities


colleges and universities

Second branch of the

There are three public universities located within the city limits: California State University, Los Angeles (CSULA), California State University, Northridge (CSUN) and University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). Private colleges in the city include the American Film Institute ConservatoryAlliant International UniversitySyracuse University (Los Angeles Campus), American InterContinental University,American Jewish UniversityThe American Musical and Dramatic Academy – Los Angeles campusAntioch University‘s Los Angeles campus, Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and ScienceFashion Institute of Design & Merchandising‘s Los Angeles campus (FIDM), Los Angeles Film SchoolLoyola Marymount University (LMU is also the parent university of Loyola Law School located in Los Angeles), Marymount CollegeMount St. Mary’s CollegeNational University of California, Occidental College (“Oxy”), Otis College of Art and Design (Otis), Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arc), Southwestern Law School, and University of Southern California(USC).

The community college system consists of nine campuses governed by the trustees of the Los Angeles Community College District:East Los Angeles College (ELAC), Los Angeles City College (LACC), Los Angeles Harbor CollegeLos Angeles Mission CollegeLos Angeles Pierce CollegeLos Angeles Valley College (LAVC), Los Angeles Southwest CollegeLos Angeles Trade-Technical College andWest Los Angeles College.

California State Normal School in downtown Los Angeles opened its doors in 1882.